Classic Leadership Wisdom: Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

If I had to prescribe one novel for all leaders to read, it would probably be Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

If you’re picturing the Hollywood movies of the same name, you’ll think it an odd choice. But Shelley’s book bears little relation to the films. Her “monster” (who is not named Frankenstein, by the way; that’s the name of the scientist who creates him) is an articulate and sensitive creature who wants to love and be loved. He teaches himself to speak, read, and write by observing a human family and, after waiting patiently for the right time, tries to make friends with them. It’s only when his overtures are viciously and violently rejected that he realizes the hopelessness of his situation and vows revenge on his creator.

Dr. Frankenstein, on the other hand, is merely a coward. Having brought his creature to life, he decides on the spot that he is a “fiend” and a “wretch,” abandons him, and flees the country. Perhaps like some leaders you know, Frankenstein talks big and has big ambitions, but when the time comes to take responsibility for what he has put in motion, he’s not up to it. When he finds he can’t control the thing he’s brought to life, he has a choice: to try to understand and care for it anyway, or to shun it and hope it disappears. He chooses the latter.

When Frankenstein meets up with his creation a year later, he is surprised to find that what the creature desires above all is not to kill him, but to tell his story. The “fiend” importunes Frankenstein with the following words, a cry from the heart for understanding:

“Let your compassion be moved, and do not disdain me. Listen to my tale; when you have heard that, abandon or commiserate me, as you shall judge that I deserve. But hear me. The guilty are allowed by human laws, bloody as they are, to speak in their own defense before they are condemned. Listen to me, Frankenstein. You accuse me of murder, and yet you would, with a satisfied conscience, destroy your own creature … Yet I ask you not to spare me; listen to me, and then, if you can, and if you will, destroy the work of your hands.”

–Frankenstein, by Mary W. Shelley

About Jocelyn R Davis

Jocelyn Davis is Principal of Seven Learning, a leadership development firm that creates a lasting lift in leaders' effectiveness using classic books, films, and stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Classic Leadership Wisdom: Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

  1. Jeffrey Baker says:

    Thanks for this recommendation. Just added it to my Kindle.

  2. Kate says:

    Frankenstein is terrific – I’d never thought of it in terms of leadership, but you’re absolutely right (of course). Have you seen the National Theatre production? The script is much closer to Shelley’s original than any of the movies I’ve seen.

    • I have not seen that one. I will look it up. I think the only version I’ve seen all the way through is Mel Brooks’s Young Frankenstein!

      • Kate says:

        I definitely know that one best, but Teddy and I also saw the first (?) version with Springfield Symphony doing the music. Very fun, but that was mostly the musical accompaniment. The movie is lame. The NT version is marvelous. Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Miller swap off Frankenstein & the creature. Great stuff!

      • You said the magic word, there (Cumberbatch). Now I will certainly see it. 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    Excellent. I’ll be interested to hear your impressions.

    I should’ve known you would know the magic word.

Leave a Reply

